What is “The Torah”

The Torah is an ancient Hebrew writing that is divided into the five sections, or “books.”  These books are most commonly known as the first five books of the Bible: B’resheet (Genesis), Sh’mot (Exodus), Vayikra (Leviticus), B’midbar (Numbers), and D’varim (Deuteronomy).  The Torah is the story of God’s people and how they came to be God’s people in the first place.  It is the common ground of all Christianity and Judaism, and the source of modern Western society and law.  Torah is the foundation upon which all biblical revelation is built.  It is God’s book, and it is a good book.

The Torah has been described or defined as the Law of Moses, because Moses wrote it.  But it is much more than just law or legal code.  The Hebrew word, Torah, comes from the root word, yarah.  Strongs’ Concordance defines it as “to flow as water;” to rain; “to throw or lay, especially an arrow, that is, to shoot;” to point out (as if by aiming the finger); to teach.  By this definition, Torah is God’s teaching and direction, pointing out the way, enabling us to aim and to hit the target.

We do not believe in “keeping” the Torah in order to be saved, to earn salvation, or to maintain salvation.  But we do believe that when you know and love Yeshua HaMashiach (Jesus the Messiah) obedience follows because we are saved.